We are delighted to report that the 2023 Caroline Herschel Prize Lectureship has been won by Dr Marie Van de Sande, a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow at the University of Leeds. (Citation)  Here are the Eligibility Criteria.

You can see the video of her lecture here

The Caroline Herschel Prize Lectureship was established by what is now the Herschel Society, in association with the Royal Astronomical Society, to celebrate Caroline’s memory by supporting promising women astronomers early in their careers. Caroline, William’s younger sister, started out as his assistant, but in time became recognised as an important astronomer in her own right, was the first to be paid as such, and was awarded the RAS Gold Medal in 1828.

Previous awards with videos of the lectures can be seen here: Previous Winners

The Prize Lectureship is supported by a very generous donation by Professor Fran Bagenal of the University of Colorado.